First Impressions: Jikkyo Powerful Pro Yakyu 4 (実況パワフルプロ野球 4)!

In an attempt to try more games that have been sitting in my backlog for way too long, I looked through my Nintendo 64 games and decided to check out 実況パワフルプロ野球 4, which translates to Jikkyo Powerful Pro Yakyu 4. It’s a baseball game I bought on accident because I thought it looked cute even though I didn’t know what the cartridge said until I looked it up when I got home. Ah well.

jikkyo1

So, Jikkyo Powerful Pro Yakyu 4 is a surprisingly robust baseball game that I have NO CLUE how to play! Seriously, there were So. Many. Menus!

jikkyo2

I could barely figure out how to get started!

jikkyo3

It’s neat though, because there are a bunch of teams to choose from, and you can even choose what type of field you want to play on.

jikkyo4

Once I finally started playing, I realized the controls were pretty tricky. No matter how many times I tried, I couldn’t hit one pitch. I couldn’t figure it out! How embarrassing.

jikkyo5

I did slightly better when playing in the outfield, though I couldn’t figure out who I was throwing the ball to, which lead to me sucking at this game in every possible way.

jikkyo6

Conclusion

jikkyo7

I played for about 30 minutes before calling it quits. This is not a terrible game by any stretch- I just couldn’t really figure out how to play! I don’t know much Japanese (despite playing Japanese Animal Crossing games) and I don’t know much about baseball either, so that doesn’t help. The graphics are super cute though, and for a game released in 1997, the voice acting for the announcer is pretty awesome!

3 thoughts on “First Impressions: Jikkyo Powerful Pro Yakyu 4 (実況パワフルプロ野球 4)!

  1. I love the graphics and character designs in this game! It is wild to hear that doing the fielding part of baseball is easier than hitting because usually hitting is the fun part and its really hard to do anything good with your basemen and outfielders. Not that I’m a huge baseball fan though. I think Mario Baseball on Gamecube is the last baseball game I bought and I didn’t enjoy that game as much as I hoped I would. I’m sorry to hear you feel similarly about this game.

    1. Yeah this game is very visually appealing! This is/was a popular game series in Japan, which is pretty interesting. I thought for sure hitting the ball would be easier as well, but I just failed every time lol! I’m not the biggest baseball fan either, though I really enjoyed the baseball game in Wii Sports 😉

      1. Baseball is popular in Japan for reasons I don’t understand. I don’t know why people watch it here 😀 I forgot about baseball in Wii Sports! That was a lot of fun. Definitely better than Mario Baseball as it was so easy to jump in and play! 🙂

Leave a comment