My Top 10 Games From the 2010s!

Back in December 2019, the Well-Red Mage posted his top 10 games from the 2010s. I thought this was a fun read and wanted to make a post of my own about it- so here I am, halfway through the first year of the new decade, finally making this post! Haha! Anyway, let’s jump right in and see what I can come up with! I don’t remember shit about what year games came out, so I had to look up lists of games released for each year.

2010

Donkey Kong Country Returns- Nintendo Wii

Donkey Kong Country Returns

It’s no secret around here that Donkey Kong Country is one of my favorite game series ever. So when DKC Returns came out in 2010, 14 years after the last proper DKC game, I was thrilled beyond words. It’s super fun and challenging!

2011

Kirby’s Return to Dream Land- Nintendo Wii

Kirbys return to dreamland boxart.jpg

Kirby always makes me happy. Do I really even need to explain more?

2012

Nintendo Land- Nintendo Wii U

I had a hard time picking a game from 2012. The names on the lists I was looking at all blurred together and I couldn’t pick one out from the lineup that really called to me. I settled on Nintendo Land, because when my husband bought me a Nintendo Wii U for my birthday in 2013, we played this game quite a bit and it was really fun!

2013

Animal Crossing: New Leaf- Nintendo 3DS

Animal Crossing: New Leaf | Animal Crossing Wiki | Fandom

A new Animal Crossing game was released in 2013… how could any other game be chosen but this one? I love New Leaf so much and played the hell out of it!

2014

Disney Magical World- Nintendo 3DS

Disney Magical World | Disney Wiki | Fandom

I didn’t learn about this game until several years after its release- even if I saw it, I probably just passed it right on by based on the fact that it had “Disney” in the title and I’m not a huge Disney fan. But this game is so fun! It’s got a lot going on and has a lot of things to do to keep you entertained for awhile. I loved it so much I got the sequel, though I have yet to try it.

2015

Yoshi’s Woolly World- Nintendo Wii U

Yoshi's Woolly World | Nintendo Wii U | GameStop

OMG this game… I just think about this game and smile! It was so cute and charming and so much fun to play! I loved everything about it!

2016

Kirby: Planet Robobot

Amazon.com: Kirby: Planet Robobot - 3DS [Digital Code]: Video Games

This is one of my favorite Kirby games! I loved all the different levels, loved the Robobot armor, loved the music- I remember I pre-ordered the game from GameStop because I wanted some sweet trading cards that came with it. I started playing the game “just to try it out” and ended up playing it until I beat it, haha!

2017

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild- Nintendo Switch

Amazon.com: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild - Nintendo ...

It was honestly really hard for me to choose between this game and Super Mario Odyssey, because I love them both. I’ve also beaten Mario, but have barely scratched the surface of Zelda. I ended up picking Zelda because I’m in awe of how huge the game is and how many different ways you can do whatever it is you want to do. It’s amazing, plus the visuals are beautiful. I suck at it and am dying/getting lost constantly, but I don’t even care!

2018

Kirby Star Allies- Nintendo Switch

Kirby Star Allies

Another one of my favorite Kirby games! So much love went into this game, and I appreciated the free updates that were released for awhile that added a ton more content to the game!

2019

Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn- Nintendo 3DS

Kirby's Extra Epic Yarn Review (3DS) | Nintendo Life

This game is cozy, sweet, and a wonderful remake of the Wii game Kirby’s Epic Yarn, with some extra goodies thrown in. What’s not to love!

So there you have it… some of my favorite games of the last decade! I realize that I chose all Nintendo games, and several of them are Kirby games… I’m a tad predictable, but I’m pretty easy to please, and I picked games I’ve had tons of fun with- regardless of where they landed on the charts! 🙂

13 thoughts on “My Top 10 Games From the 2010s!

  1. I am detecting a theme in your game choices 🙂 I LOVED Planet Robobot, Kirby games are just so darn fun and well made. Recently there was a bestbuy sale and I grabbed Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn, I’m looking forward to checking that one out.

    Side note, if you ever need a list of games by console and year, check out videogamesbyyear.com – I built it after reading the exact same post on TheWellRedMage that you mentioned, so that I could do a similar “favorite game by year” post. But I never actually wrote that post, so thanks for the reminder!

    Love the blog btw, not sure how I wasn’t already following it.

    1. Hey there! Haha yeah, I’m a bit predictable in that sense… I know what I like so I tend to stick with it! 😉 I enjoy branching out and trying all different games though.

      I’m glad you loved Planet Robobot too! I loved the levels and how much fun the whole game was. I think you’ll enjoy Extra Epic Yarn, even if you played Epic Yarn on the Wii… it was a fun game to revisit! That’s why I love Kirby games- they are fun and entertaining! 🙂

      Oh my goodness, what a nice website! That’s an awesome idea and must’ve taken you quite awhile to build! I bookmarked it and will definitely use it as reference! 🙂

      And aww, thank you so much! I appreciate that! I’m following your blog now too!

  2. These are great choices and I agree with picking Kirby and Yoshi games. In the Wii era and even on Wii U, they were about as good as anything Nintendo was making. Was DK Tropical Freeze in consideration for your list? I really loved that game and would like to play it again one of these days. I do need to play Kirby Return to Dreamland too. It used to be crazy expensive when I wanted to play it and I think they made more copies and it isn’t so bad anymore but its been a long time since I looked. Thanks for reminding me to pick that game up! 🙂

    1. Thanks! Yeah, DK Tropical Freeze was definitely considered! In the end, I just tried to pick games that I had beaten, and I have yet to play all the way though that game! Oh wow, hopefully you are able to pick up Return to Dreamland someday! It’s pretty fun!! 🙂

      1. I hope you are able to play through Tropical Freeze! I think I like it better than DK Returns but that’s just me 🙂 I will definitely pick it up as I will always make time for Kirby!

      2. Oh wow that’s interesting, because I really loved DKC Returns! I can’t seem to stop playing Breath of the Wild right now lol, but Tropical Freeze is something I really want to play soon! Haha and I agree, I always make time for Kirby too! 😉

Leave a comment