First Impressions: Animal Crossing: New Horizons!

It’s September already! Yay, let’s get this year over with! Haha. For all my US friends, today is Labor Day, so hopefully you are enjoying an extra day off from hell work like I am! Anyway, on to the post…

No, I did not just get Animal Crossing: New Horizons- as you probably remember from a previous post, I went out and purchased this game on launch day. I also haven’t done a First Impressions post since 2018, which I did not realize until I started typing this. So you may wonder, what is the point?! Well, I always thought First Impressions posts were kind of fun, and a good way to quickly summarize my first experience with a game! Animal Crossing: New Horizons happened to be one of the first games I started this year, so I figured why not start with this one! Here’s a little summary of my first 3 days with the game, and my initial thoughts!

Day 1

ACNH1

I was so excited to finally start playing this game! I had been looking forward to it for a long time. I arrived on my deserted island (which I named Spartacus) with Katt the… cat and Tank the rhino. The little sequence you play before the game kicks over to real time was too cute- I won’t spoil it for anyone who hasn’t played yet! The deserted island vibe was definitely there, and it was so cool to walk around and explore. There were a few places on the island that I couldn’t even access yet, which I thought was kind of neat and mysterious! Anyway, on Day 1 I learned about Nook Miles, and I learned how to craft! I immediately crafted some flimsy tools (which definitely live up to their name and break very easily). I caught several bugs and fish, and I found a place for Blathers’ tent!

Day 2

ACNH2

I enjoyed more of the game’s leisurely pace, but I managed to earn enough Nook Miles to pay off my debt- now I’ll have a house instead of a tent! πŸ™‚

Day 3

ACNH3

My house was built- so cute! Of course, this means going into debt with Tom Nook as usual- 98,000 bells to be exact! Nook Miles were used to pay off my initial debt, but now they are used for other things! One of the first things I purchased with Nook Miles was a Tool Wheel. Super handy, though I wish this meant tools were removed from your inventory and put into the wheel instead of still taking up space in your inventory! Oh well.

Besides my tent being upgraded, Tank and Katt have houses too! Also, the museum has been built, and it is GORGEOUS! I overheard Tom Nook and Tommy talking about building a store, so Timmy asked me to gather some crafting materials for the job!

Conclusion

ACNH4

Obviously, I loved this game from my first moments with it! I love the chill island vibe, and I love how you slowly build your island from the ground up. It’s such a sense of accomplishment every time a new shop is built or you upgrade your house. I am obviously several months into the game now- but I am far from being finished with everything. I have been taking my time with everything, and I don’t care if it takes me years to finish it. The journey is part of what is so fun about Animal Crossing games to me!!

P.S. I don’t know WHAT THE FUCK is up with this new WordPress editor, but it is aggravating the fuck out of me, and I just want to go back to what it was before! It is NOT user friendly at all!

7 thoughts on “First Impressions: Animal Crossing: New Horizons!

  1. This was a fun read and I’m guessing the first of many fun days you’ll have with the game πŸ™‚ The WordPress editor is definitely different and it took me a couple of tries to get used to it, but it does get better… eventually!

    1. Oh yeah, I have definitely made some good progress in the game since I started in March! I’m in no hurry so I don’t mind if it takes years. I hope the editor does become better the more I use it, because right now I just find it aggravating lol! I’m set in my ways I guess!

      1. Old age can make you get set in your ways. I unfortunately know that firsthand πŸ™‚ Hopefully you can get used to the editor because I would think you’ll be using it a lot in AC!

  2. I hear ya on the block editor. When I created my new website it forced me to use it. I was pissed at first, but several months later I am okay with it, slowly moving towards liking it πŸ˜†

    1. I just kept ignoring the pop ups that warned me that the new editor was coming lol!! I’m glad to hear you’ve come to start liking it, because I’m still in the extreme hatred stage haha!!!

Leave a comment