Gaming Firsts!

As y’all are probably aware by now, when I start following someone’s blog, I make it a point to try to read all of their posts, past and present. The problem is, I am painfully slow at doing this and constantly playing catch up. With that being said, recently I stumbled upon a post written in 2015 by Cilla vs. Games about her gaming firsts, and I thought it would be a fun post to do! She had written this post in honor of National Video Games Day, which is cool. Anyway! Here are a few of my Gaming Firsts! πŸ˜‰

The First Game I Remember Owning and Playing

Tetris (Game Boy video game) - Wikipedia

This honor goes to Tetris for the Nintendo Game Boy! I’ve written about this before, but the gist of it is… I saw an advertisement for the Game Boy on tv, told my mom I wanted one, and what do you know? On Christmas, I had my very own Game Boy, which came bundled with Tetris! I LOVED to play Tetris so much, and it remains one of my favorite puzzle games to this day.

The First Game I Spent More Than 100 Hours On

Pin de Michael Tepaurel em SNES Boxart hack | Jogos super nintendo ...

Well, back in my day (haha, I’m old) there wasn’t a whole plethora of games and systems to choose from like there is now! I pretty much grew up playing my Game Boy and Super Nintendo only… unless I went to a friend’s house that had a different system! Because of that, I played some of the same games over and over, and I Loved. Every. Second! With that being said, I bet you I put over 100 hours into Donkey Kong Country for the Super Nintendo. I’d beat the game, erase it, and start over constantly. I spent hours looking for every hidden bonus and memorizing every level. It was an obsession.

The First Game I Played Online

AA Fully Cooked Fish Patty 312gm/pkt (Halal) | SGFoodMart.com

I’ve never been a big online gamer- neither solo nor multiplayer. So I’m really trying to think of a game I played online, and the best I can come up with is some website I used to get onto with my husband (then boyfriend/fiance) back in like 2003 or 2004. It was a neat website with lots of different games you could play against people, but I can’t remember the name of the website. All I know is that our user name was FishPatty. Who knows what we were smoking when we came up with that name!

The First Game I Obtained The Platinum Trophy For

Super Mario RPG - Wikipedia

LOL welll…. I don’t really go after achievements in games. Too much of a hassle in most cases, plus I’m just not that talented. Can I just answer this question with the first game I ever 100% completed?… Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars for the Super Nintendo! I had everyone in my party with max stats, I found every hidden treasure box, I did every little sidequest… it remains one of my great gaming achievements to this day πŸ˜‰

The First Game That I Played With Someone Else

Kirby's Dream Course | Kirby Wiki | Fandom

I played video games with my friends down the street a lot when we were growing up, but the first game I have explicit memories of playing was Kirby’s Dream Course for the Super Nintendo. My friend Jason and I would spend HOURS playing the two player courses and laughing our asses off at our misfortunes. Good times!

The First Game That I Purchased DLC ForΒ 

As a rule, I generally don’t purchase DLC because the whole concept of it annoys me to no end. With that being said, there are a few exceptions to that rule, such as if I think said DLC really adds a lot of value to the existing game and it is a decent price. I’m pretty sure the first (and one of the only) times I paid for DLC was when all the extra content was introduced for Mario Kart 8 for the Wii U. I think there were 8 new tracks, 6 new characters, a few new kart parts, and a bunch of new colors for Yoshi and Shy Guy (so each new color could almost be considered a new character). It seemed like a lot of new stuff for like $11, so I bit the bullet and paid for it.

P.S. Sorry the picture above is so shitty, I couldn’t really find a good one for some reason? Plus, I’m lazy, so if I can’t find it right away, forget it!

The First Game That I Streamed

I have never streamed a game in my life- I’m not cool enough nor good enough for any of that mess.

So there you have it! A few of my gaming firsts. It was fun answering these questions!

9 thoughts on “Gaming Firsts!

  1. Pretty awesome post! 100 hours is a whole lot of time for DKC, but I guess if I look to the games I played when I was a child, I can find one I played that much. It would probably be Super Mario Kart.

    1. Thanks! Yeah it does seem like a lot of hours, but I just know that I played DKC so much by myself, and then countless times with friends and family- so I’m sure it added up to that many hours! πŸ™‚ Oh and I’m sure I played Super Mario Kart just as much… so much fun!

  2. We must be of similar ages (aka old!) because I got a Game Boy bundled with Tetris as my first game too. I also got a basketball game that Christmas but I would consider Tetris my first game ever. Ironically, I don’t really like Tetris that much and I don’t think I played it that long before I got bored but I found other games on Game Boy that I enjoyed so it was not a problem. I enjoyed reading the rest of your answers too! They are fun things to think about πŸ™‚

    1. Haha yes I think we probably are both old!! πŸ˜‰ I just turned 34 in July and it feels so weird to think about how different gaming was back then! Aww, I’m glad you had other games to play that you enjoyed more than Tetris! I played the hell out of it and always tried to beat my high score! I agree, it is fun to look back and reminisce πŸ™‚

      1. I’ll be 35 next month so I’m definitely ancient πŸ˜€ I’m glad that you enjoyed Tetris so much. My fiancee plays a variation of it almost nightly and I can’t figure out how she doesn’t get bored. I was much more excited to play Mario and Kirby’s Dream Land on my Game Boy πŸ™‚

  3. You are a true MVP. I wish I could go through all the posts of the lovely people I follow D: I think you should definitely stream if you feel so inclined πŸ™‚ I really want to do so once I get my computer situation together.

    1. It takes me forever and I often fall behind on my reading, but I try to keep up! πŸ™‚ Well, I don’t have any streaming equipment but you never know what the future might hold! And if you do, I will be sure to watch! πŸ™‚

      1. You’re still doing it! Yeah, I’m hoping to do a test run one of these weekends. Maybe next one. I have a baby shower I partially planned to do tomorrow so this one is a bust, but I don’t think I have any plans next weekend. I’ll have to figure it out πŸ˜€

Leave a comment